The Fluke Cooks (Bake) Book Blog

My (in my opinion) very first-time lucky flukish baking!!

Scottish Butter Shortbread January 1, 2011

Filed under: Recipes — littlemunchkin @ 4:24 pm

This makes a round of shortbread in a 7 inch cake tin…although I used a bigger tin and got thinner bits of shortbread – works either way i think!

Ingredients:

  • 175g butter. It must be room temperature
  • 75g golden caster sugar, plus extra for decorating
  • 175g plain flour, sifted

Method:

1. First of all, beat the butter in a bowl with a wooden spoon to soften it, then beat in the sugar, followed by the sifted flour. Work the ingredients together with the spoon, pressing them to the side of the bowl, then finish off with your hands until you have a smooth mixture that doesn’t leave any bits in the bowl.

2. Next transfer the dough to a flat, lightly floured surface, and roll it out lightly to a round (giving it quarter turns as you roll) about the same diameter as the tin, then transfer the round to the tin. Now lightly press the mixture evenly into the tin right up to the fluted edges (to make sure that it is even you can give it a final roll with a small glass tumbler). Finally, you must prick the shortbread all over with a fork – or it will rise up in the centre while it’s baking.

3. Bake the shortbread for 60-70 minutes on the centre shelf of the oven (mine took way longer than this…think it depends on your oven!) – it should have turned pale gold and feel firm in the centre. Then remove it from the oven and, using a knife, mark out the surface into 12 wedges. Leave it to cool in the tin, then, when it’s cold, cut it into wedges. Dredge with the golden caster sugar and store in an airtight polythene box or tin.

Shortbread Slices

Close up of the Shortbread!

Credit to the genius that is Delia Smith!

 

15 Responses to “Scottish Butter Shortbread”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    How much semolina recipe doesn’t say

  2. Hello! I didn’t use any semolina! x

  3. Chet Says:

    I for all time emailed this website post page to all my associates, because if like to
    read it after that my friends will too.

  4. Hi! I understand this is somewhat off-topic however I
    needed to ask. Does building a well-established blog such as yours take a lot of work?
    I am brand new to operating a blog but I do write
    in my diary everyday. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my own experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any suggestions or tips for new aspiring bloggers. Thankyou!

  5. Thankfulness to my father who stated to me regarding this web site, this webpage is genuinely amazing.

  6. Hi to every one, the contents present at this web site are in
    fact awesome for people experience, well, keep up the nice work fellows.

  7. What’s up to all, how is all, I think every one is getting more from this site, and your views are nice in support of new people.

  8. It’s remarkable to pay a quick visit this website and reading the views of all mates regarding this piece of writing, while I am also keen of getting knowledge.

  9. Mario Says:

    Good respond in return of this issue with genuine arguments and describing all
    regarding that.

  10. Incredible! This blog looks just like my old one!
    It’s on a completely different topic but it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Outstanding choice of colors!

  11. Hi, I do think this is an excellent website. I stumbledupon it πŸ˜‰ I
    may come back yet again since i have book marked it.
    Money and freedom is the greatest way to change,
    may you be rich and continue to help other people.

  12. Can I simply say what a relief to uncover an individual who truly knows what they
    are discussing over the internet. You definitely understand how to bring an issue to light and make it important.

    More and more people really need to look at
    this and understand this side of your story. It’s surprising you aren’t more popular since you
    most certainly have the gift.

  13. I enjoy what you guys are up too. This sort of clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the wonderful works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my own blogroll.

  14. Allan Says:

    Whats up this is kind of of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have
    to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding knowledge so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  15. It’s actually a nice and helpful piece of info. I’m happy that you
    just shared this helpful info with us. Please stay us informed like this.
    Thank you for sharing.


Leave a comment